Supplements & Brownies!

It’s time for a little happy talk.  Don’t get me wrong, I am still a nut bag mentally but I try to calm it down. I am ten weeks out today…freaking out!  I am excited and nervous, confident and insecure all in one.  My mom and I bought our airline ticket and I finally decided on a suit. I haven’t ordered it yet and I can’t decide if I want to share what it looks like ahead of time. But we will see, I have to get it first.  Taking these steps make it more real the time is coming and I am getting more excited with each purchase made despite what my bank account says.

The other day my coach posted up some prep brownies that we could have on her Instagram. Being a brownie lover I obviously had to try and I am obsessed!  Now granted, they do not taste like REAL brownies but when your diet is chicken, fish, veggies and brown rice, anything will taste like heaven. So if you are looking for a healthy treat then you should try these!

photo-9

In a large bowl mix a cup of oat flour, 1/2 cup of stevia, pinch of salt (I didn’t use any salt).  In another bowl, whisk 7 egg whites, 1 tbsp of vanilla extract (I found that chocolate extract added more flavor), 1/3 cup of unsweetened natural apple sauce.  Whisk the wet ingredients until the egg whites become fluffy and add to the dry ingredients.  Mix together and add 2 tbsp of cocoa powder.  Put in a cup cake pan/flat pan for 15 mins in the oven heated to 350 degrees.

The first time I made then I didn’t crush almonds only because I had my almonds for the day. Yes, a whopping 15.  Today I crushed them and added them to the brownies 5 minutes into baking.  I didn’t add it on top while it was wet just because I thought the almonds would sink in, but it cook pretty fast with 5 mins so it wasn’t as wet as I need the mix to be to hold the almonds either.  So that part is an experiment still.

The batch made 20 brownies – Per Brownie: 21 calories, 4 grams of carbs, .05 grams of fat, 1 gram of protein.

Supplement Talk – I think I finally settled on the supplements I like.

photo-8

You can go anywhere to get this stuff but I’m a pretty loyal customer to the Vitamin Shoppe.  I use the BCAA mixed with some crystal light pink lemonade and sip on that while I do my cardio.  Well generally while I work out but especially during my cardio so I can prevent muscle breakdown.  The BCAA Powder is a Vitamin Shoppe brand and to be honest, I haven’t tried any other else than the ON Amino Energy.  It’s not to shabs but I need the little flavor to get through.  I may just buy more ON Amino Energy since it has BCAA in it, but as of now I use that as my pre work out. I was using Cellucor C4 and didn’t find that it gave me the boost I needed for my work out.  But the Amino Energy on the other hand….totally feel it and it taste delicious! I have the watermelon flavor and it takes like a lollipop and doesn’t have the nasty chemical shit taste most products have.  For my post work out , I use BSN Cellmass 2.0 Blue Raspberry.  So far so good, flavor is definitely doable.  I will probably stick to it for now because it’s the best tasting one I have had.

Competition Information – Some of you guys have been asking about my show and I will continue to share this info, but might as well let you guys know now.  The official flyer finally came out so here ya go!

August 10th @ Monmouth University. Prejudging $20 is at 11am and Finals $35 – $40 @ 6pm.  I have no idea why it is 35-40 but if I find that out I’ll let you know.

photo-7

And before I end this one more thing – my article will be posting on June 4th at 7am est at http://www.theindiechicks.com! Be on the look out for that… 🙂

Yay!

xoxo

Kristine

Leave a Reply

